Lewis Bates wins Adelaide Hills

The younger of the rally championship domineering brothers, it was Lewis Bates and co-driver Anthony McLoughlin who stood atop the podium at the weekend’s Adelaide Hills qualifying round for the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship.

Second was a same specification Toyota Yaris AP4 of Richie Dalton and Dale Moscatt while Daniel Gonzalez and Larisa Biggar finished third in a Skoda Fabia R5.

Held near the South Australian location of Adelaide the planned 28 special stages used a mix of shire roads and the tarmac/gravel sections of The Bend Motorsport Park.

Heavy rain affected much of the event with six of stages cut from the itinerary. Ironically it was fire that halted Harry Bates (and co-driver John McCarthy) on the Saturday.

Of the five entered for the APRC event only four started the rally, qualifying their entry for the all-in title decider.

A winner takes-all, the championship placings will be determined at Australia’s eastern coast location of Coffs Harbour, 25 – 27 November.

2022 Adelaide Hills Rally – Final Results (APRC)
1. Lewis Bates, Toyota Yaris AP4, 1:19:56.3
2. Richie Dalton, Toyota Yaris AP4, +01:21.7
3. Daniel Gonzalez, Skoda Fabia R5, +03:54.4
4. Harry Bates, Toyota Yaris AP4, +59:35.0