Aussie rally stars add to APRC entry list

This weekend’s Australian based Adelaide Hills Rally adds a further five entries to the list challenging for the outright FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship crown.

Based at South Australia’s The Bend Motorsport Park, the event starts on Thursday with a street party at nearby Murray Bridge. Competition begins on the Friday evening with four runs of the 8.1km GT Plus stage, twice in daylight and twice in the dark.

On Saturday a further 13 special stages using shire roads totalling 98.63km, take teams north and west toward Adelaide.

Sunday’s remaining 11 stages use road sections at The Bend Motorsport Park and concludes with the 6.3km Power Stage, returning teams for a 5:30pm podium celebration.

Headed by the #1 and #2 cars of Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia, brothers Harry and Lewis Bates (Toyota Yaris AP4) raise the bar of competition for the all-in title decider.

Marcus Walkem, Rally Tasmania 2019
Like their competitors Shamrock Motorsport’s Richie Dalton and Dale Moscatt, Realty Lane’s Daniel Gonzalez and Larissa Biggar and Ikon Sign’s Dean Ridge and Phillip Bonser, both Bates brothers are cross entered in the Australian Rally Championship.

Starting the rally raises current eligibility for the championship decider event to a total of 25 teams. The winner takes-all APRC decider is being held at Australia’s eastern coast location of Coffs Harbour, 25 – 27 November.