APRC Format Shakeup for 2019

The format of the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship will be changed in 2019 to help competitors with logistics and add value to the title.

Two APRC Cups, organised into smaller territories, will be held as qualifiers for a final. The APRC Asia and Pacific Cups for Drivers and Co-drivers will be held over a minimum of three events and all results will be taken into account.

After participation in two rallies in an APRC Cup, drivers will automatically qualify for the final, which will be alternately hosted in a different Asia or Pacific country each year.

2019 ARPC Calendar
Based on the results of the final, the following titles will be awarded:

  • FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship for Drivers and Co-drivers
  • FIA Junior APRC Championship for Drivers (under the age of 28 years)
  • FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship for Manufacturers
  • APRC Nations Trophy
  • APRC Team Trophy

Competitors will also be permitted to enter categories of cars approved by ASNs holding APRC rounds.

More details for the new format will be released in the coming weeks.

Photo: Brian Green at the 2018 Otago Rally by Aaron Wishart