2017 APRC Highlights

As we head into 2018 and the APRC’s 30th anniversary (1988 – 2018), here’s a quick look back at the highlights from 2017 FIA APRC.

The battle through the season between MRF Skoda team-mates Gaurav Gill (India) and Ole Christian Veiby (Norway) would have to be one of the best in years, while they didn’t have it all their own way with Jarri Ketomaa (Finland) always a threat in his Mitsubishi Mirage.

Ketomaa’s MPart team-mate Robert Blomberg (Sweden) drove consistently to finish 3rd in the points while PG Abilash (India) was 5th and won the APRC Production Cup.

Several drivers chose to do selected events including Fuyuhiko Takahashi (Japan) who shared the APRC 2 Pacific Cup win with Abilash, Yuya Sumiyama (Japan) who debuted Cusco’s R5 Skoda Fabia at Malaysia and Japan, Mike Young (New Zealand) who drove four different cars through the season including a development Cusco Toyota Vitz at Rally Hokkaido, a Volkswagen Motorsport Polo at India Rally and Sanjay Takale (India) who took delivery of his new Mitsubishi Mirage in Malaysia.

The diversity of driver nationalities in 2017 was great to see with competitors from Finland, Norway, Sweden, Japan, New Zealand and the increasing interest from India with 3 representatives.