Competitor Update – 18 December 2017

2017 Champions

On behalf of the APRC, I would like to extend congratulations to Gaurav Gill and Stephane Prevot on securing the 2017 APRC Drivers and Co-drivers Championships. This the third APRC Championship title for GILL, driving for Team MRF in a Skoda Fabia R5.

Also congratulations to all the other APRC Champions for 2017, and all competitors who have once again committed to the challenges of APRC rallies during the year.

A full list of 2017 Champions and the final points situation is available on the APRC website at

Gaurav Gill and Stephane Prevot, International Rally of Johor 2017

2018 APRC Regulations

As approved at the APRC Working Group meeting, there are a few changes to the 2018 APRC Regulations. These still have to be ratified by the FIA. To follow are the major changes approved by WG:

  • AP4 cars may have engine capacity up to 1620cc
  • AP4 cars registered to score points in APRC and/or any of the Cups must be fitted with a 32mm restrictor
  • AP4 cars that are not registered to score points may be fitted with 34mm restrictors
  • There will no longer be a requirement to nominate individual rallies. Competitors will nominate which Championships and/or Cups they wish to compete in.
  • Nomination of a Championship and/or Cup can be done at any time during the year. Points will not be allocated retrospectively.
  • Registration and nomination of Championships and/or Cups must be completed before the close of entries of the relevant rally of the Championship/Cup.
  • Changes to the registration fee which is now to be paid in New Zealand dollars – NZD
  • Revised 2018 APRC Registration forms, along with 2018 National Car Approval forms will be available on the APRC website soon

As more information is available early in 2018 I will keep you all updated.

Würth at Rally Whangarei 2017

2018 APRC Calendar

The calendar of rallies for 2018 is as follows.

  • New Zealand Whangarei 5-6 MAY
  • Australia Canberra 2-3 JUNE
  • Malaysia Johor 21-22 JULY
  • Japan Hokkaido 15-16 SEPTEMBER
  • China Longyou 20-21 OCTOBER
  • India Chikmagaluru 1-2 DECEMBER
Finally, I would like to thank all teams, drivers, co-drivers, competitors, sponsors and organisers for their support of APRC in 2017.
I trust the experience has been good for you, and I look forward to welcoming you back and working with you all again in 2018.Wishing you all a Safe and Happy Festive Season and brighter things for 2018.

Murray Brown
APRC Coordinator
+63 908 310 5888