Eight Rally 2 cars to start APRC Indonesia

This weekend’s (22-24 September) qualifying round for the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) at Indonesia’s Danau Toba Rally includes eight Rally 2 specification entries – the highest number of international category cars for 2023.

The two-day competition covers 133 km across the picturesque volcanic plateau in the North Sumatra region of Indonesia. The nine cars entered to qualify for the APRC championship title also have the chance to point-score for the Asia Cup title – a five round sub-title.

Danau Toba hosted rounds of the World Rally Championship (WRC) in 1996 and 1997 and the APRC from 2019.

Heading the 2023 APRC entry list is Ryan Nirwan and co-driver Adi Indiarto in a Toyota GR Yaris AP4 – the only non-Rally 2 entry.

Starting from Ajibata, the rally is contested across eight special stages, five on the Saturday and three on the Sunday. The route returns the teams to Aek Nauli for the ceremonial finish from 4pm

Mr Vicky Chandhok, Chairman of the APRC Working Group said the entry list showcases the sport will grow from Indonesia’s high level of competition.

“The Rally 2 specification car is the feeder to the WRC level Rally 1 car where the next generation of world champion will progress from. That Indonesia has eight for this weekend is evidence at how strong and competitive the future is,” he said.

“It is quite likely one of the competitors from Dana Toba will be a name on the world stage in the years to follow.”

By starting the rally each of the nine entrants are eligible to contest the APRC championship decider – being held in the same region from 24 to 26 November.

Photo courtesy: Toyota Gazoo Racing Indonesia

Toyota Gazoo Indonesia