Valimaki Grabs Win. Crocker Takes Title

Another tough day of rallying in Indonesia, and Finland’s Jussi Valimaki made the most of his great start on day 1, to complete the event at the top of the time sheets. Valimaki claimed his second win of the season, nearly a minute ahead of his MRF team-mate Katsu Taguchi.

With wins on the two morning stages, Valimaki remained in the top three all day to take the win, jumping into second place in the series.

But coming home with a ‘wet sail’ was Motor Image Subaru driver Cody Crocker, winning the final four stages of the rally and taking his second APRC championship title.

Although he was unable to improve on his 5th place from Saturdays stages, Valimaki’s maximum points haul means Taguchi will not be able to catch Crocker in the championship, even if the Motor Image driver fails to score points at the final round in China.

Hiroshi Yanagisawa put his DNF in Malaysia behind him to claim the final podium position, and climb past Rifat Sungkar in the battle for 4th place in the championship. The Japanese driver is now just one point behind India’s Naren Kumar, who was forced to retire mid-way through leg 2.

The podcast of Rally Indonesia, with all the details of the rally and interviews with the drivers, will be available for download from from Tuesday morning.

Unofficial Final Results:

1. Jussi Valimaki
2. Katsuhiko Taguchi +1:41
3. Hiroshi Yanagisawa +2:45
4. Gaurav Gill +4:24
5. Cody Crocker +4:39
6. Rifat Sungkar +6:39
7. Brian Green +16:12

Photo courtesy of

This article originally appeared on and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship or its partner organisations.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.