History never repeats

And they say ‘history never repeats’!

With two rounds left to run in the ’07 APRC season, I thought it might be interesting to look back at where we were 12 months ago.

Like this year, Rally Indonesia was round 6 of the season, and also like this year, Cody Crocker went into the event as the championship leader. In fact he didn’t win the event outright, that honour going to Toshi Arai making an appearance in a Motor Image Subaru. But second outright, and first for the APRC, saw Crocker take an unassailable points lead; 68 points out of a possible 70 after winning the five rounds he’d contested to that point.

Like this year, Katsu Taguchi started Rally Indonesia second in the championship, and Rifat Sungkar and Hiroshi Yanagisawa were battling it out for the minor places.

We’ll find out next week if Cody can repeat his effort of 2006 and seal his second championship title in Makassar, but in the meantime, you can take a trip back down memory lane with this video from last years Rally Indonesia.

This article originally appeared on aprclive.com and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship or its partner organisations.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.