Caldarola wins Rally of China

Italian driver Nico Caldarola won the 2001 Rally of China by 2.4 seconds from Malaysia’s Karamjit Singh. Caldarola, with co-driver Dario D’esposito and driving a Mitsubishi Lancer, won all three legs of the event and going in to the final leg had a 20 second buffer over his Asia-Pacific rival. But with fuel problems striking the Top Run Lancer and Singh in fighting mood the last stages were a tense battle between the two drivers. Caldarola’s victory in China was matched by Singh wrapping up the Group N 2001 Asia Pacific Rally Championship for Malaysian manufacturer Proton.

China’s driver Chan Chi Wah had another solid driver for overall 3rd place and Brian Green from New Zealand was 4th, both driving Mitsubishi Lancers. After a promising early run and setting several quick stage times UK’s John Lloyd ended up 5th overall after steering problems on Leg 2. The Super 1600 class was won by Monster Tajima in the Suzuki Ignis after a good run and 6th place.

The overall drivers and manufacturers championship remains to be settled at the final round in Thailand 1-2 December.

Day 2 – Italian driver Nico Caldarola increased his lead over Karamjit Singh to 18.9 seconds. Chinese driver Chan Chi Wah moved into 3rd place after John Lloyd dropped to 10th place with steering problems. Brian Green from New Zealand retains 4th spot. Nubohiro Tajima is having a good event in his Super 1600 class Suzuki and is currently 8th overall and 1st in class.

Day 1 – Italian Nico Caldaraola leads the event by 1.5 seconds from Malaysia’s Karamjit Singh. John Lloyd is 3rd, Brian Green 4th and Caan Chi Wah 5th.