Internationals join South India APRC

A total of 15 entrants, including offshore teams, will start the 46th South India Rally, a round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship – to be held 17-19 March 2023.

Run concurrently with the opening round of the Blueband Sports-promoted Fmsci Indian National Rally Championship, the competitors will be tested over 131kms of Special Stages, beginning with two loops of cross-over Super Special Stage on Friday afternoon.

Last year’s winner of the India round of Asia Cup and reigning Indian national champion Karna Kadur (co-driver Nikhil Pai) will defend his title, piloting a Volkswagen Polo. Also headlining the APRC field are Gaurav Gill, a three-time APRC champion, partnered by a new co-driver in Aniruddha Rangnekar in a Subaru Impreza, and Thailand’s Toyota Rally team’s Pornsiricherd Mana (Meenil Thanyaphat).

Rally South India 2021
UK-based former Indian National champion Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) is another strong contender while the field also includes lone female driver, Nikeetaa Takkale from Pune, the niece of former APRC Production Cars champion, Sanjay Takale, along with navigator Venu Ramesh Kumar.

The rally starts on Friday with two runs of the 1.8km super special stage. Saturday covers seven stages inland from the Madras International Circuit (MIC) rally hub. A number of the stages include roads around the venue – reconfigured. Sunday concludes with four stages returning the teams to the MIC for an event podium from noon.

Images courtesy of Madras Motorsports Club