Variza wins in Indonesia

Indonesia’s Rihan Variza and co-driver Andi Rendy won the weekend’s fifth round of the 2019 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), powered by Würth by a massive 13 minutes 59.2 seconds.

Held near the North Sumatra location of Medan, Variza in a Mazda 2 AP4 wrestled for the early advantage over roads in the Rambong Sialang estate. Challenged by Italian pairing Fabio Frisiero and Giovanni Agnese in the Peugeot 208 they were one of the three teams to retire during the day.

Covering six special stages through a variety of mainly 90-degree junction roads threaded through the estate, Variza ended the day with a 12-minute lead. Second was Priamanaya Djan and Hade Mboi in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X.

Revived to four cars for Sunday’s remaining four stages the weather remained hot. After winning the first two stages of the day Variza slowed in the final two with Frisiero fastest.

Fabio Frisiero, Rally Indonesia 2019
Returning to the Lubuk Pakam ceremonial finish to a hero’s welcome, Variza was joined by Priamanaya Djan in second. Aldrian Suwardi and Romy Capri finished third in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX. Frisiero finished fourth.

The series now heads south for the final round of the Pacific Cup – the Eureka Rush 24–25 August, held in Victoria Australia.

Priamanaya Djan, Rally Indonesia 2019
Rally Indonesia Results – Provisional

1. Rihan Variza / Andi Rendy, INA, Mazda 2 AP4, 2.05.39,0
2. Priamanaya Djan / Hade Mboi, INA, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +13.59,2
3. Aldrian Suwardi / Romy Capri, INA, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, +42.49,5
4. Fabio Frisiero / Giovanni Agnese, ITA, Peugeot 208, +1:20.14,2

Photos courtesy: Aaron Rausch