Canberra to Host APRC

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) is pleased to announce that The Brindabella Motorsport Club has agreed to terms that will result in Canberra’s National Capital Rally stepping up to become the new round of the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) from the 26th to the 28th May 2017.

For CAMS General Manager of Motor Sport – Events Michael Smith, the announcement follows from Friday’s news that the original APRC Round – the International Rally of Queensland (IROQ) – had been cancelled. “Full credit goes to Martin Holberton and the Brindabella Motorsport Club. It’s simply outstanding that they’ve been able to pull this opportunity together and we think that the National Capital Rally will be greatly enhanced with the addition of the APRC.”

For Brindabella Motorsport Club president Martin Holberton the opportunity to have the APRC return to Canberra after a nine year absence made sense: “The event returning to Canberra is the culmination of several years of work with the community to grow the event with increased competitor numbers and spectators. This year we will see international cars come to the capital with multi-million global viewership.”

“The event is already shaping up to be an excellent one, with increased spectating opportunities demonstrating the best parts of Canberra dirt roads in the Cotter and Kowen forests.”

“It is important to pay tribute to Mike Bell, who provided great leadership and development to the club which brought us a round of the FIA Asia-Pacific Championship round in the first place.”

The 2017 FIA APRC National Capital Rally will take place in Australia’s Capital Territory (Canberra) and will be held from the 26th to the 28th May, 2017.