APRC Champions awarded for their success at Whangarei

The 2013 Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) trophies were presented to their respective winners in a special ceremony at the start of the International Rally of Whangarei today.


Michael Young, the youngest ever driver to win the Asia Cup, along with achieving other key milestones like winning the Thailand Rally, was able to receive get his multiple trophies in front of his home crowd. Young’s navigator for the Asian rounds, Malcolm Read, also picked up a trophy as the Asia Cup co-driver champion.


“I’m so stoked to finally get these trophies, and being presented them here at home just makes it that much better. It’s a real credit to the huge team of people who have supported me throughout my rallying career as I sure wouldn’t be holding this [trophy] without them.”

The 2013 APRC Drivers’ Champion, Gaurav Gill, and co-driver Glenn Macneall were also acknowledged during the official proceedings, despite already receiving their awards at the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) prize-giving gala in Paris last year.


Also acknowledged was Skoda, for their impressive effort during the 2013 championship, with the award being formally accepted by Czech driver, Jan Kopecký, in place of the team’s manager, Pavel Hortek.


Sanjay Takale was also recognised for his Production Cup win, with regular co-driver Sean Gregory alongside him.


The champions, along with other APRC teams, now have to turn their attention to tomorrow’s stages which total 137.77 kilometres of closed special stages, followed by an additional 83.10 kilometres on Sunday.


To keep up to date with APRC news, follow us on Facebook (www.facebook.com/aprctv) or Twitter (www.twitter.com/aprctv)

This article originally appeared on aprc.tv.