Singh and Rafiq go head to head in Malaysia

APRC drivers Karamjit Singh and Muhammad Rafiq went head to head last weekend in their national rally championship third round, held near the historic city of Melaka. By winning outright Singh has put himself right in the hunt for the overall 2011  title.

It is now only a two point gap separating SIngh and leader Muhammad Rafiq Udhaya as they head for the fourth and final showdown in two months time.

Karamjit for all his effort in Melaka over the weekend where he won on both days has 28 points and Muhammad Rafiq finishing second best to Karamjit on both days, is still the overall leader on 30 points.

But for now Karamjit and co-driver Vivek Ponnusamy are the undisputed winner taking their Mitsubishi Lancer past everyone with ease. Even Muhammad Rafiq and his Subaru Impreza alongside Sean Gregory, who finished second, just could not handle the pace.

Karamjit’s total winning time for the round was 1hr:53:19.7sec for the entire 125km race with Muhammad Rafiq coming in second on 2hrs: 06:53.9secs, a good 13 minutes behind.

The day had started brilliantly for Karamjit, just like the opening day on Saturday where he was in terrific form and in total control from the start to the end.

“That’s the joy of rallying. When everything goes your way and the car responds to your every touch, you know you are in for a comfortable drive. I am happy that I have won both rounds here in Melaka which has kept me in the hunt for the overall title.

“I have won the overall title a total of eleven times and I want to make it a dozen,” said Karamjit.

Third overall was the young driver Kenneth Koh and Nicole Gill in their Proton Satria in 2hrs: 19:28.3secs.

Koh also won the junior category, after a good battle on the first day with New Zealander Michael Young who slipped off the road on the last stage, while Daniel Lee was second of the juniors and 5th overall on his first event.

A total of 25 cars took part in the rally and for the first time in the championship two environment friendly fuelled cars took part in the race, a Daihatsu Tomaso and a Perodua Kelisa.

This article originally appeared on