Taguchi wins Malaysian Rally

Katsu Taguchi from Japan has won the opening round of the 2010 Asia Pacific Rally Championship,  the Malaysian Rally held over the weekend in Johor.

Driving for the Indian MRF Tyres Rally team Taguchi stayed out of trouble in the tricky Malaysian conditions, while his main rivals crashed off or had mechanical problems.

Taguchi won the event by a massive 15 minutes, ahead of his team-mate Gaurav Gill from India.  In third was Indonesian driver Rifat Sungkar and 4th was Australian Chris Atkinson in the new Proton Satria.

Alistair McRae led after Day 1, but retired with engine problems at the start of Stage 11.

Full story later.

This article originally appeared on aprc.tv.