FIA Elections

Following the election of Jean Todt as president late last week, Morrie Chandler from New Zealand was re-elected as one of seven sporting vice presidents, heading the World Rally Commission.

Steven Kennedy, president of MotorSport New Zealand was re-elected to the World Touring Car Championship Commission and to chairmanship of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship working group.

Jean Todt won the election with 135 votes to Ari Vatanen’s 49 with 12 abstentions.

Jean Todt has a long history of successful motorsport team management, most recently with the Ferrari F1 team and prior to that with the Peugeot WRC team. Both won several world championships while under his management.

This article originally appeared on