Karamjit Wins Second Round Of MRC

 PADANG BESAR, May 31 (Bernama) — Malaysian Rally king Karamjit Singh and former APRC champion powered his GSR Pennzoil Racing Team to a comfortable victory in the second round of the Malaysian Rally Championship (MRC) at the Chuping sugar cane plantations near here today.

Karamjit who took the lead on day one at Kuala Perlis yesterday, powered his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8 to the fore in 2 hours 14 minutes and 12 seconds (2’14.12) over the 164.61km treacherous course.

The Flying Sikh together with navigator Jagdev Singh left his closest challenger and main rival Gunaselan Rajoo and his co-driver Mohd Izwan Abdullah, also of GSR Pennzoil Racing Team, by almost 10 minutes after the duo finished with a time of 2’23.27s.

India’s Arjun Rao Aroor and his partner Musa Sheriff on a Mitsubishi Lancer clocked 2’38.29 for third place while Jamaluddin Tukimin and his brother Rozita Tukimin in a Proton Satria clocked 2’42.17 for fourth place.

A total of 25 cars took part in the championship which was held under slippery conditions due rain.

Karamjit, a professional rally driver has won the 2001 Asia Pacific Rally Championship, the 2002 FIA Production Car World Championship, as well as the 2002 and 2004 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championships.

He had raced for the Petronas EON Racing Team and Team Proton Pert Malaysia using Proton cars during his successful years with co-drivers Ron Teoh, Allen Oh and John Bennie.

This article originally appeared on aprc.tv.