MRF Confirms two car APRC entry

Article from the “Times of India” 13th April, 2009:

MRF Gears Up for APRC

Here’s some good news for Indian motorsports fans. Team MRF will be competing in the 2009 Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC),starting with the second round in Queensland, Australia, from May 9-10.

There were fears about MRF pulling out of the APRC 2009,owing to the global economic gloom and the subsequent cost-cutting measures. There were also talks that they might opt for a one-car team, instead of three cars as in the past two years. But all that was laid to rest on Sunday with Anthony Rodricks, the head of MRF’s motorsport activities, announcing that they would be taking part in the 2009championship. “Gaurav Gill and Japan’s Katsuhiko Taguchi will be driving the two cars for Team MRF.

Gill will be driving a Mitsubishi EVO 10 with codriver Glenn McNeall of Australia, while Taguchi would be behind the wheels of a Mitsubishi EVO 9 with Australia’s Mark Stacey as his codriver,” Rodricks said.

The delayed decision was due to the inclusion of Taguchi. Taguchi did not feature in the original team due to the withdrawal of Mitsubishi Ralliart, which has been co-sponsoring Team MRF since 2003, from APRC. “Taguchi has shown considerable improvement over the years and the team management felt his participation would strengthen the team’s chances,” Rodricks added.

Team MRF have won the APRC title twice, in 2003 (Armin Kremer) and 2005 (Jussi Valimaki).

This article originally appeared on