Motor Image to continue in APRC

Following Fuji Heavy Industries’ (FHI) decision to pull out of the World Rally Championship (WRC), Subaru fans worldwide will certainly be dealt a blow for not having a team to cheer on at the next year’s Championship. However, this has not deterred the Motor Image Rally Team (MIRT) from continuing to compete for victory for Subaru at the upcoming Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) 2009.

“Over the years, Subaru’s rally heritage has been honed from FHI’s participation in WRC and with FHI pulling out of WRC, Subaru fans can look to Motor Image Rally Team’s quest in the Asia Pacific Rally Championship,” said Mr. Glenn Tan, Team Principal of MIRT. “We’ve got big plans for the upcoming 2009 season and we’re eager to defend our title. With our new Assembled in Singapore Impreza STI GRB Rally car, we believe that the new car will make the competition more exciting and interesting to watch”.

Since its debut in 2007, Singapore-based Motor Image Rally Team has been blazing the trail with rally driver Cody Crocker winning the APRC Driver’s Championship title and MIRT-Subaru winning the Manufacturer’s Title for two consecutive years.

For the 2009 APRC season, MIRT will be back with a brand new Assembled in Singapore Subaru Impreza STI GRB rally car and a new driver line-up to continue its APRC journey for the third consecutive year. The APRC is primarily a Group N championship in that the favoured cars are the current world leaders in Group N rally technology.

The championship is subject to regulations laid down by the FIA. Vehicle eligibility is open to Production cars (Group N). Each class has a driver and co-driver award along with an overall manufacturer trophy. In 2007 and 2008, MIRT-Subaru were the recipients of the manufacturers’ trophy, while Cody Crocker won the driver’s title and Ben Atkinson won the co-driver’s title.