Subaru Challenge for 2006 APRC

With current Australian Rally Champion Cody Crocker and Eli Evans the winner of the 2005 Subaru RS Challenge about to confirm their entries in the 2006 Asia Pacific Rally Championship, Subaru looks to have a championship challenging team for the seven country series. With cars prepared by Les Walkden Rallying the Australian team has the drivers, the cars and the team to take on last year champions Mitsubishi.

To further strengthen Subaru’s title hopes, there is an entry from Cusco Racing lead by Japanese driver Hiroshi Yanagisawa. The Cusco team has competed in 3-4 APRC events in the past but never enough to qualify as an APRC entrant. Cusco have the experience to mount a serious challenge and Yanigsawa is no stranger to the podium on international events – with several top finishes in New Zealand and a 3rd outright in China last year.

As yet there is no announcement from Mitsubishi, although an entry is expected from last years champion MRF Mitsubishi team with Japanese driver Katsu Taguchi to return. A major challenge has been confirmed by a leading Indonesian team with confirmation of drivers and cars due very soon. It seems likely that the Chinese Wan Yu Rally team will make a welcome return with Kan Chi Hong and Fan Fan, plus a number of kiwi drivers are yet to reveal their 2006 plans.