Kan Chi Hong Wins APRC

The 2005 Rally of China was won by Jussi Valimaki from Finland, driving a Mitsubishi Evo 8 for the Honghe Rally team. However for this event Valimaki was not registered for APRC points (driving a non-registered team) and therefore the APRC points winner in China was Malaysian duo Kan Chi Hong and co-driver Bernard Chin who finished 5th overall in a Mitsubishi Evo 8 for the 92wy Rally Team.

Second in APRC and 9th overall were New Zealanders Brian Green and Fleur Pederson, who managed to get their car across the finish-line safely despite loosing their sumpguard in the last two stages. Fan Fan and Li Jia were 14th and 3rd overall in APRC making it a clean sweep for the 92wy Rally Team and their fleet of Mitsubishi Evo 8’s.

Leading retirement was Katsu Taguchi and Jarkko Kalliolepa who went out before the 1st stage with a technical problem . However by starting the event Jarkko competed in the minimum number of rallies to win the 2005 APRC co-drivers award – he will join Jussi Valimaki in Monaco for the FIA prize-giving awards.