Singh wins Rally of Thailand

Malaysian driver Karamjit Singh won the 2000 Rally of Thailand after a titanic last day battle with New Zealand’s Possum Bourne.

Going into the last leg of the event Singh driving a Proton Pert was over 3 minutes ahead of Bourne who had suffered a puncture and diff problems on the 2nd day. With these retified Possum set out to claw back the time and the lead with his much faster Group A Subaru Impreza. Over the very rough Thailand roads cut to pieces by rain-storms in the days prior to the event start, Bourne risked everything, to gain back the lead but Singh with-stood the pressure to head Bourne by 36 seconds into the final control.

“I’m absolutely delighted -at the start of the day I gave myself a 50:50 chance of winning, as Possum’s car is a much quicker group A car and mine is Group N – the roads were so rough”.

Bourne was happy with his result, though not winning he gave it everything thoroughly enjoying the battle with Singh. “We gave it everything we had. I drove the car to the absolute limit and beyond sometimes. Our car’s got a cracked windscreen and buckled roof from the big jumps!”

Behind Bourne came Simon Evans driving a F2 Volkswagon Golf, “ was good for my driving to experience these roads – they’re so rough it requires a different approach”.

The Thailand Rally was the final round of the 2000 Asia Pacific Rally Championship, with Possum Bourne in his Caltex-Havoline Subaru winning the championship overall, Karamjit Singh 2nd and winner of the APRC Group N class in a EON Proton Pert. Simon Evans took the F2 catergory with his Volkswagon Golf. Thailand also decided the FIA Asia Zone Rally Challenge with Indian champion Hari Singh winning in a Proton Satria.

Rally Thailand 2000 Final Results
1. Karamjit Singh (MAL), Proton Pert, 2.17.29
2. Possum Bourne (NZ), Subaru Impreza WRX, 2.18.05
3. Simon Evans (AUZ), Volkswagen Golf, 2.19.51
4. Low Lek Han, Proton Pert, 2.22.20
5. Tawatchai Pasomsup, Mitsubishi Lancer, 2.29.33
6. Surarat Prapassom, Mitsubishi Lancer, 2.29.41