Indonesia Added to APRC 2022

Competition for the Asia Cup of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) has taken a step-up with the addition of Indonesia as an event on the 2022 calendar.

The Asia Cup will be awarded on points accrued from five rounds and is a full FIA title.

“Since they were last part of the championship in 2019 their enthusiasm to be included for 2022 has been rewarded by a late inclusion by the FIA World Motorsport Council”, said APRC Working Group chairman Mr Vicky Chandhok.

The Danau Toba Rally will be the penultimate round for the title, which will be awarded at the annual FIA Prize-Giving ceremony, along with the winner of the overall championship title.

Fabio Frisiero, Rally Indonesia 2019
Entrants from each round (plus five nominated from the eligible New Zealand events) will meet in Australia for the all-in final. The former WRC host location of Coffs Harbour will be a winner takes all, following two-days of competition.

The last time a champion was awarded was in 2019, when Chinese Taipei driver Lin Dewei and co-driver Le Kepeng won the Longyou Rally, China.

Rnd 125 Mar - 27 MarSouth India Rally – IndiaAsia Cup
08 Apr - 10 AprRally of Otago – New ZealandPacific Cup
13 May - 15 MayRally of Whangarei – New ZealandPacific Cup
Rnd 210 Jun - 12 JunRally Montre – JapanAsia Cup
Rnd 423 Sep - 25 SepDanau Toba Rally – IndonesiaAsia Cup
Rnd 521 Oct - 23 OctRally Longyou – ChinaAsia Cup
Rnd 621 Oct - 23 OctAdelaide Hills Rally – AustraliaPacific Cup
Rnd 725 Nov - 27 NovCoffs Coast Rally – AustraliaPacific Cup

* – Rally Longyou subject to ASN’s confirmation