APRC Structure

What, When and Where

The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) has since 1988 been recognised as one of the premier regional championships in World Rallying. Six regions make up the FIA regional rally championship series, with events spread across the globe. Geographically APRC covers the largest area and represents almost 40% of the worlds population.

Taking place in one of the most diverse regions of the world, in a climate of rapidly expanding economies, the FIA APRC continues to attract drivers and teams from across the world. The current R5 cars have created a new level of competition, alongside some of the best Group N drivers in the region. 2017 expect to see the regional Group AP4 cars competing alongside the R5 cars. All these cars and teams feature in this exciting and exacting championship, where television audiences around the world are measured in hundreds of millions.

Each of the six rallies of 2017 APRC has its own unique characteristics, adding to the allure of rallying in this part of the world. From the dust and dirt of Queensland, to the rural countryside of Whangarei, to the home of Group N rallying in Japan, to the steaming jungles and plantations of Malaysia, to the majesty of China, to the rich cultural heritage of India, APRC offers each and every participant something to savour.  With its diversity of climate, topography, culture, language, cuisine and history, APRC is truly a regional championship offering the very best of what this region has to offer.

APRC 2017 will feature six rallies on the calendar, New Zealand, Australia, China, Malaysia, Japan and India.

Competitors can also register for the Asia or Pacific Cups. This provides an opportunity for competitors to get a “taste” of international rallying, without the need to commit to the full APRC. Full registration requirements are detailed in the series regulations.

2017 will see the continuation of the Production Cup, with a change of name to align it with the WRC and other regional championships.

The championship will now be known as the FIA APRC 2 Championship. As well the as overall championship for APRC, APRC 2 Cups are available for both the Asia and Pacific areas.

Formerly 2WD Cup, 2017 sees this changing name to FIA APRC 3 Championship.


The championship runs under similar competition format to the FIA World Rally Championship and is subject to regulations as laid down by the FIA. These include the FIA International Sporting Code and the FIA Regional Rally Championship  Regulations which include the APRC.

Most events follow the FIA format of a central service area with “cloverleaf” legs over 2 or 3 days. Parc Fermes are established at end of each leg or day.

A further extension of this is the ability to have APRC approval to use cars that meet national rally car eligibility (designated as ASN). Further information and the application form can be obtained from the APRC secretariat.

Points scoring is based on finishing order in each round to calculate overall points, using the same formula as for World Rally Championship: 25,18,15,12,10,8,6,4,2,1.

In addition to this, points are awarded for each leg of each event for the first 7 place getters: 7,6,5,4,3,2,1.

This is known as Rally 2 (formerly SupeRally) and allows for non-finishing competitors from the 1st leg to restart the 2nd and any subsequent legs. Points are awarded for all of the Cups on the same basis as the full APRC.

To be eligible for championship points, each entrant, driver and co-driver must have registered with the FIA (on the APRC Registration forms) by the closing date. The process of registration includes the requirement to nominate a minimum 6 events.

In recent times, the Asia Pacific Rally Championship has become more of a focus for international media with media outlets around the world seeking information and updates on what is happening in this challenging and demanding series.

The 2017 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship will feature the following events:

International Rally of Whangarei 28 – 30 April inc Pacific Cup
International Rally of Queensland 26 – 28 May – inc Pacific Cup
China Rally 7 – 9 July – inc Asia Cup
International Rally of Johor 11 – 13 August – inc Asia Cup
Rally Hokkaido 15 – 17 September – inc Asia Cup
Rally India 24 – 26 November – inc Asia Cup

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.