Competitor Update – December 2014

On behalf of the APRC, I would again like to pass on congratulations to all the 2014 APRC Champions. And also of course to all the other competitors who have once again committed to the challenges of APRC.

A full list of 2014 Champions and the final points situation is available on the APRC website

2015 APRC Calendar

The 2015 calendar has been approved by the FIA. There will be six events of APRC:

  • New Zealand 17-19 April
  • New Caledonia 15-17 May
  • Australia 19-21 June
  • Malaysia 14-16 August
  • Japan 18-20 September
  • China 30 October-1 November

Pacific Cup will include New Zealand, New Caledonia and Australia

Asia Cup will include Malaysia, Japan and China (a fourth rally is expected to be added and confirmed early in 2015)

Junior Cup will include New Zealand, Australia, Malaysia and Japan

2015 APRC Regulations

The FIA has approved the 2015 APRC regulations. These can be found at

Please note the following changes from 2014 under V4 (from page 55)

  • Art 4.2, 4.3, 4.4.6
  • Art 5.4.2, 5.6
  • Art 14.1
  • Art 28.1
  • Art 56.3

National Cars

The FIA has given approval for APRC to consider applications from competitors who wish to use cars that meet national elgibility requirements.

This is intended to allow more cars to compete in APRC.

There will be criteria which must be met as part of the application process. There will be a form available from the APRC secretariat along with details of the fee payable.

International Rally of Whangarei 2015

2015 will see more of the familiar for Whangarei; Northtec pre-event service area, Quayside SP and HQ.

The organisers have included in the itinerary some new roads never before used for international rallying. But in keeping with the roads that this part of the world is famous for.

Rally Guide 1 is available on the event website as well as the APRC website

Rallye de Nouvelle Caledonie 2015

The organisers have re-located the rally, to some familiar territory to the north of Noumea. As well as the stages and SP located in Bourail, the rally will move HQ and the weekend accommodation base to the Sheraton Hotel in Bourail.

Rally Guide 1 is available on the event website and provides further details

In consideration of the extra transport costs for teams to move containers from the pre-event service area to Bourail, this cost will be borne by the organisers

Murray The MooseFinally, I would like to thank all teams, drivers, co-drivers, competitors and sponsors for their support of APRC in 2014. I trust the experience has been good for you, and I look forward to welcoming you back and working with you again in 2015.

Wishing you all a Safe and Happy Festive Season and better things for 2015.

Please feel free to contact me for further information on any of the above items.

Kind regards
Murray Brown
APRC Coordinator

Rally Whangarei Rally Guide Available

Rally Whangarei, Sanjay TakaleWith many competitors already planning their 2015 APRC season, the organisers of the International Rally of Whangarei have begun releasing competitor information.

Click here to view the Rally Guide 1, with further information and supplementary information available early in the new year.

FIA Increases Car Categories for 2015

Chevrolet Agile Maxi CarFollowing the recent meeting of the World Motor Sport Council agreement has been reached to allow the APRC to approve cars from countries within the region to participate and score points in the 2015 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship. This will allow a greater range of cars to compete.

This is in addition to the changes last year which allowed cars that complied with the JAF (Japanese Automobile Federation) RJ and CAMS (Confederation of Australian Motor Sport Ltd) G2 regulations to take part without the need for detailed homologation documents.

Cars already approved for other FIA Regional Championship will also remain eligible for the APRC. This include vehicles such as the maxi cars already locally homologated in Argentina.

The maxi car concept is also being embraced by Australia & NZ and cars built to these rules will be able to apply to participate in the APRC.

Honda Civic. Ming KoWith the growing manufacturer and consumer interest in alternative fuel cars, the APRC is considering a category to cater for this class in the near future.

The 2015 Asia Pacific Rally Championship starts in April, with New Zealand’s Rally of Whangarei then heads to New Caledonia, Australia, Malaysia, Japan and the China Rally in November. A seventh event will be added for Asia Cup only.

for more information, please contact:
Murray Brown, APRC Coordinator e:
APRC Secretariat:

Kopecky and Dresler Receive FIA Awards

Pavel Dresler, Jean Todt, Jan KopeckýDoha, 6 December 2014: It was a big day for the ŠKODA Motorsport team with the Czech automobile manufacturer’s drivers crowned Asia-Pacific and European rally champions for the third time in a row by the International Automobile Federation (FIA).

As well as the trophies, ŠKODA also received plenty of recognition from the elite of the motorsport world, who had gathered in the Qatari capital Doha for the official award ceremony for the 2014 season. The Fabia Super 2000 also became the most successful model in ŠKODA’s 113-year motorsport history.

“We can be proud of the success we achieved with our Fabia Super 2000 last year. And the entire ŠKODA Motorsport team once again did a great job,” said ŠKODA Motorsport Director Michal Hrabánek. “A big thank you obviously goes to our crews, for whom the trophies are just reward for an outstanding season,” Hrabánek continued.

In the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), ŠKODA was honoured for completing a hat-trick of back-to-back titles in the Manufacturers’ and Drivers’ Championships following a perfect season, with six wins from six races. New champions Jan Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (CZ/CZ) also achieved a feat worthy of champions: they became the first duo ever to win the Drivers’ titles in the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) and then the APRC in consecutive years. Chris Atkinson (AUS) had previously won the APRC Drivers’ title in 2012, while Gaurav Gill (IND), who finished third this year, was crowned champion in 2013

Kopecký, Dresler , Fern and LappiA team in a ŠKODA Fabia Super 2000 also won the title in the ERC for the third year in a row, this time courtesy of Esapekka Lappi/Janne Ferm (FIN/FIN). Fellow ŠKODA duo Sepp Wiegand/Frank Christian (D/D) of the ŠKODA AUTO Deutschland team finished runner-up in the continental championship to complete a one-two for ŠKODA. Lappi followed in the footsteps of his compatriot Juho Hänninen (2012) and Kopecký (2013), who also won the European title in a ŠKODA Fabia Super 2000.

FIA President Jean Todt presented this year’s title winners Kopecký/Dresler and Lappi/Ferm with their trophies at an award ceremony in Doha. Also among those receiving trophies were Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia. The French pair won the World Rally Championship for Volkswagen for a second year running in 2014.

This shower of titles was a fitting end to the incredible success story of the Fabia Super 2000 at ŠKODA Motorsport. From 2015, the ŠKODA Fabia R 5 will follow in the footsteps of the most successful rally car in the company’s 113-year motorsport history. The international public is currently enjoying a preview of ŠKODA’s new rally car at the Essen Motor Show, in the form of an R 5 concept car. “The Fabia R 5 is the future of rallying for us,” said ŠKODA Motorsport Director Michal Hrabánek. “The Fabia R 5 is expected to be homologated by mid-2015.”

Source: Team Release